NOTE! This site uses cookies

By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more detalis, see Read more


What are you looking for?

Six Barça players named to the Team of the EURO Tournament

6 of the 8 Barça players that won the EURO title with Spain were named to the best team of the EURO. Valdés, Pedro and the Dutchman Afellay are the only Barça players that did not make the all-star team.


03 July 2012 03:29 PM



Barcelona (ACN).- UEFA named six FC Barcelona players to the EURO Team of the Tournament. Gerard Piqué, Jordi Alba, Sergio Busquets, Xavi Hernández, Andrés Iniesta and Cesc Fàbregas feature along side 17 footballers in UEFA\u2019s all-star team. The only Barça players to not be named to the Team of the Tournament, which is dominated by 10 Spanish and Catalan players, are Víctor Valdés (who didn\u2019t play), Pedro and Afellay.

Furthermore, it\u2019s worth mentioning that Barça is the team with the most EURO winners in this edition of the tournament, with a total of seven players, eight if Jordi Alba is included.

The other players named to UEFA\u2019s Team of the Tournament are the keepers Buffon, Casillas and Neuer; defenders Coentrao, Lahm, Pepe and Sergio Ramos; midfielders De Rossi, Gerrard, Khedira, Özil, Pirlo and Xabi Alonso and the strikers Balotelli, Ronaldo, Ibrahimovic and Silva.

Three Barça players in 2008

Only three Barça players were named to the Team of the Tournament in the 2008 EURO: Carles Puyol, Andrés Iniesta and Xavi Hernández, who was also named the MVP of the competition. This year, however, that award was given to Andrés Iniesta.


  • A total of 8 Barça Players were on the Spanish Team that won the Euro 2012 (by FC Barcelona)

  • A total of 8 Barça Players were on the Spanish Team that won the Euro 2012 (by FC Barcelona)