Spain moves forward date of reopening of Schengen borders to June 21

Original date of measure was July 1, which is maintained for Portugal

Passengers in Terminal 1 of Barcelona airport, 18 March, 2020 (by Àlex Recolons)
Passengers in Terminal 1 of Barcelona airport, 18 March, 2020 (by Àlex Recolons) / ACN

ACN | Barcelona

June 14, 2020 11:39 AM

The Spanish government has moved forward the date when borders with Schengen countries will open to June 21.

The cabinet chief, Pedro Sánchez, informed of the change to the regional presidents on June 14, in the weekly meeting they all hold every Sunday morning.

The original date in which borders were to open was July 1, and this date is maintained for Portugal.

June 21 coincides with the end of the three-month-long state of alarm, and is believed to be the first day of the restart of international tourism.

Confusion around dates

There has been some confusion around the final date of the reopening of borders in the past few weeks. On May 23, Sánchez announced that foreign visitors would be allowed again from July 1, without the 14-day obligatory quarantine that is now still required. 

On June 4, Spain's tourism minister, Reyes Maroto, said that the restrictions on the land borders with France and Portugal would be lifted on June 22 - but this was corrected by her government within hours. 

In the end, the final date is next Sunday, when the quarantine will not be needed anymore. 

This comes few days after France announced that it would keep mobility restrictions in place at its borders with Spain until June 21 while opening those with other neighboring countries on June 15, as reported by Agence France-Presse.

Sánchez's announcement on Sunday comes after the EU urged Madrid and the rest of member states to lift the restrictions on June 15

Third countries

Meanwhile, Spain will begin reopening borders with countries outside the Union on July 1, as advised by Brussels. 

Indeed, the Commission encouraged member states to make a list of third states whose travelers will be accepted on European soil from July 1, taking into account their epidemiological situation and the response of authorities.

The Union proposes that at least Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, and Serbia should be included in the list because their situation is similar or "better" than that of the EU.

On Friday, June 12, the Socialist-led government decided to partially open its border with Andorra.