'Sis dies corrents' named Best Catalan Film at 2022 Gaudí Awards

Movie directed by Neus Ballús also wins among other prizes Best Director and Best Actor

Gaudí Award statue during the 2019 Awards ceremony
Gaudí Award statue during the 2019 Awards ceremony / Marc Rovira

Gerard Escaich Folch | Barcelona

March 7, 2022 12:44 AM

Catalonia has celebrated once again a huge night with a sky filled with stars but also at the National Art Museum of Catalonia (MNAC) red carpet. The 14th edition of the Gaudí Awards highlighted Catalan filmmaker Neus Ballús with her 'Sis dies corrents' film. 

Ballús’ movie was named Best Catalan Film on Gaudí’s Sunday night ceremony at MNAC’s oval hall. 

The filmmaker also was awarded the Best Director prize. 

"This movie has changed the life of a lot of people, including mine," she said when picking up the trophy. "We, directors, have a lot of ideas, but many times we do not know how to bring them to reality." 

'Sis dies corrents' was the big winner of the edition after the main actor Mohamed Mellali received his prize naming him Best Actor. The film also won the Best Supporting Actor and the Best Edition awards.

'Sis dies corrents' is a comedy featuring a Moroccan plumber named Moha as the main character. The movie follows his working life and how he copes with clients and work colleagues' eccentricities. Moha has a week to show he can replace Pep, a worker that is due to retire, and show Valero that he is the adequate candidate despite his origin. 

The other big winner was Clara Roquet’s 'Libertad' named Best Non-Catalan Language Film and received the Best Script trophy. The film was premiered in the United Kingdom at Scotland’s Catalan Film Festival.

Roquet’s movie is based on the friendship between two teenagers from different origins and realities spending their summer in Costa Brava shoreline. 

The awards won by Neus Ballús and Clara Roquet confirmed their long-time relationship with the Catalan Film Academy. Ballús received her first Gaudí in 2013 with the Best Film and the Best Director trophy while Roquet won in 2014 the Best Script for 10,000 km and the Best Shortfilm for 'El adiós' the year after.

Ukraine’s invasion at Gaudí Awards

During the awards ceremony, there have been moments to support Ukraine. On February 24, Russian president Vladimir Putin started invading the Eastern European country. 

Before handling one of the awards, the Ukrainian actress Polina Dzhakaieva, thanked the support received from those present at the gala. 

"I feel your warmth, and I know it is focused on my country, a war victim," before adding "they can destroy our homes, destroy our bridges, and take away our life, but cinema will always remain there to fight lies, craziness, and the bloodlust," she said. 

Three main candidates

There were three main candidates ahead of the 14th edition of the Gaudí Awards with 'Las leyes de la frontera', 'El ventre del mar', and 'Libertad' receiving the highest number of Gaudí Award nominations. 

While 'Libertad' received four awards, 'Las leyes de la frontera' got three more prizes. While 'El ventre del mar', the movie directed by Agustí Villaronga, did not receive any trophy despite having 12 nominations. 

The other winner was ‘Mediterráneo’ receiving four awards. The film is based on Òscar Camps and Gerard Canals’ NGO, Open Arms. 

Open Arms does not have a "political position, but a human one," that "deserves to be explained," the director told the Catalan News Agency (ACN) at the film's premiere as part of the San Sebastián International Film Festival in the Basque Country.

Barrena said Mediterráneo had been a "particularly difficult" film to make, a project lasting five years, involving countless trips to Lesbos, an "intense but wonderful" time with Open Arms, and visits to refugee camps, listening to people's stories. "To me, the film puts things in perspective," he said at the time.

What are the Gaudí Awards?

The Gaudí Awards are an annual film ceremony in Catalonia, which began in 2009, having spun off from the Barcelona Awards, which date back to 2002. 

Antoni Gaudí, whom the prize is named after, was a Catalan architect, most famously known for his design of the unfinished Sagrada Familia in Barcelona.

There are 22 award categories, including Best Catalan Film, which requires at least 20% Catalan participation in the production to compete.