FC Barcelona Women's team wins second Champions League

Barça beats Wolfsburg 3-2 at Philips Stadion in Eindhoven, with Alexia Putellas returning to field

A FC Barcelona flag ahead of the Barça women's team's Champions League final against Wolfsburg in Eindhoven on June 3, 2023
A FC Barcelona flag ahead of the Barça women's team's Champions League final against Wolfsburg in Eindhoven on June 3, 2023 / Guifré Jordan
Catalan News

Catalan News | @catalannews | Eindhoven-Barcelona

June 3, 2023 04:20 PM

October 11, 2023 02:55 PM

FC Barcelona Women's team won its second Champions League title on Saturday after winning 3-2 against German Wolfsburg in a final that saw the opponent winning 0-2 before halftime.

One of the most awaited moments, though, was the return of the maximum scorer of the competition last season, Barça's Alexia Putellas, who came back to the contest after a long recovery from an injury and a short play during a league game, which also saw the team winning the La Liga title for a fourth consecutive time.

But nerves arose during the last added minutes of the match, seven in total, with FC Barcelona having to be very careful in its plays to avoid any goal from Wolfsburg to push for the added time. However, more time was counted to the game, with a last corner kick from the Germans holding many supporters' breaths.

Fans at Philip Stadion were excited to the last minute as thousands traveled to Eindhoven in The Netherlands.

Among the fans that went to the match there is Catalan president Pere Aragonès, who was seen around the city by several Barça supporters.

Until now, Barça had only achieved one Champions League title in the 2020/2021 season after winning 4-0 against Chelsea FC.

Ahead of the match, the FC Barcelona president, Joan Laporta, was seen in the VIP area with UEFA president Aleksander Čeferin. The European football regulator is currently investigating the Catalan club regarding the alleged referee payments made by the team to referee Negreira, known as 'The Negreira Affair.' Besides Laporta, Luis Rubiales, who is the Spanish Football Federation president.

The team led by coach Jonatan Giráldez started with Paños, Bronze, Paredes, Mapi León, Rolfö, Aitana, Walsh, Patri, Graham, Mariona, and Salma in the first lineup, leaving the famous award champion and the two times winner of the Ballon d'Or, Alexia Putellas, who recently returned to the team after a long sick leave but was able to play some minutes at the end of the game.