FC Barcelona awarded Laureus World Team of the Year

Barça wins “the Oscars of sports”. FC Barcelona beat out the Dallas Mavericks, the Red Bull Formula 1 team, the All Blacks, the English national cricket side and the Japanese women’s national football side to win the Laureus World Team of the Year award. Messi and Abidal were also nominated. This award, which gives FC Barcelona worldwide recognition, will be added to FC Barcelona’s athletic and social achievements.


February 7, 2012 02:45 PM

London (FCB).- The Laureus World Team of the Year goes to ... FC Barcelona. The team lead by Josep Guardiola was named the Laureus World Team of the Year on Monday night for in London after the Catalan Club's near impeccable 2011 run where they claimed the Spanish League, Champions League, Spanish and European Super Cups and Club World Cup. The Laureus World Sports Academy picked Barça ahead of the NBA champions, the Dallas Mavericks; the Formula 1 team Red Bull; the New Zealand’s All Blacks, world champions; the English national cricket side, reining The Ashes champions; and the Japanese Women’s football team, also world champions.

FC Barcelona President Sandro Rosell and the club’s Vice-President Carles Viarrubí attended the gala, which was held at the Westminster Central Hall in London. The Laureus awards are considered to be the ‘Oscars of sports.’

Messi and Abidal, nominated

This wasn’t the only prize that Barça was vying for the Laureus night. Messi was one of the six nominees for the World Sportsman of theYear and Éric Abidal was in the running for the Laureus World Comeback of the Year.

List of Laureus champions

Spain's national football side

Brawn GP (Formula 1)

Chinese Olympic team

South Africa's national rugby team

Italy's national football team

Renault (Formula 1)

Greek's national football side

England's national rugby side

Brazil's national football side

Australia's national cricket side

France's national football side