Spain removes Covid entry requirements for much of Europe

No longer vaccine certificate or negative test required from Austria, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Finland, Hungary, Poland, Romania and regions of several other countries

Travelers at the Girona airport (by Aleix Freixas)
Travelers at the Girona airport (by Aleix Freixas) / ACN

ACN | Barcelona

June 22, 2021 10:15 AM

Spain has removed several European countries and regions from its list of Covid-19 "risk countries."

The result is that travelers from Austria, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Finland, Hungary, Poland or Romania will not be required to show evidence of vaccination or a negative PCR test in order to enter Spain.

In addition, people arriving from certain regions of Germany, Croatia, France, Greece, Italy, Norway and Portugal will also be exempt from the Covid travel requirements.

These countries and regions join the United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, China, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, Israel, Malta, and Rwanda, all of which were already deemed not "at risk" by the Spanish government.

Check out our guide and our podcast on what you need to know if you want to visit Catalonia this summer. 

At risk countries

Arrivals from at risk areas, which includes most countries worldwide, must provide a document that either shows:

-          They have been fully vaccinated at least 14 days before arrival

-          They have tested negative for Covid-19 with a PCR test taken at most 72 hours before arrival or with an antigen test taken at most 48 hours before arrival

-          They have recovered from Covid-19 within the past six months

Tougher requirements are in place for people wanting to enter Spain from India, Brazil or South Africa.

In the case of India, all passengers must quarantine themselves for ten days upon arrival, or for the entirety of their stay in the case that it’s shorter than this period. In addition, they must provide negative test results before boarding, as well as test negative in the airport upon arrival.

For travelers coming from Brazil and South Africa, only citizens or residents of Spain can enter the country, while also following the same criteria as passengers from India.

The latest list of at risk countries applies from Monday, June 21 until Sunday, June 28.  The Spanish government is next due to update the list of countries on Monday, June 28.

The full list of countries deemed as risk is as follows.


Germany (except for the regions of Bayern, Berlin, Brandenburg, Bremen, Hamburg, Hessen, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Niedersachsen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Rheinland-Pfalz, Sachsen, Sachsen-Anhalt, Schleswig-Holstein and Thüringen)



Croatia (except for the region of Panonska Hrvatska)

Denmark (except for the region of Syddanmark)



France (except for Corsica, Martinique and Mayotte)

Greece (except for the regions of Anatoliki Makedonia Thraki, Ipeiros, Peloponnisos and Voreio)




Italy (except for the regions of Abruzzo, Emilia-Romagna, Friuli Venezia Giulia, Lazio, Liguria, Lombardy, Marche, Molise, Piedmont, Bolzano/Bozen, Trento, Apulia, Sardinia, Tuscany, Umbria and Veneto)





Norway (except for the regions of Innlandet, Møre og Romsdal, Nordland, Rogaland, Trøndelag, Vestland and Viken)

The Netherlands


Portugal (except for Madeira)



All countries outside EU/EEA except for:



South Korea



New Zealand





Hong Kong