NOTE! This site uses cookies

By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more detalis, see Read more


What are you looking for?

Spain to reopen borders to twelve more countries but not Morocco, Algeria, and China

Travellers from 12 countries will be able to enter the country from midnight of July 4


03 July 2020 11:03 AM


ACN | Barcelona

The Spanish government will reopen the country’s borders on Saturday to twelve of the fifteen countries recommended by the EU, with the exception of Morocco, Algeria and China. 

With these three countries, the order published in the government’s official gazette (BOE) stipulates that the opening of borders is subject to the other countries acting reciprocally, and also opening theirs to Spanish residents. 

Instead, from midnight on July 4, Spanish borders will once again be open to people travelling from Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, and Uruguay.

The borders with other countries, including land borders with Portugal and France, were closed at the beginning of the state of alarm in March due to the Covid-19 pandemic. 

From the Spanish interior ministry, they say that in the cases of Algeria and Morocco, it "is part of the necessary coordination at the borders of the two countries" with which they usually share "a significant flow of entry and exit."

The order from the interior ministry repealed last Tuesday's order, which extended restrictions with third countries for a week, pending a European deal. The borders to other European countries are already open. 



  • Queues at the doors at Barcelona airport, June 2020 (by Albert Cadanet)

  • Queues at the doors at Barcelona airport, June 2020 (by Albert Cadanet)