The International Terenci Moix Award recognises the film career of Theo Angelopoulos

The award will be presented on September 22nd at Barcelona’s Palau de la Música. The awards are named after Catalan writer Terenci Moix, who was a film lover and a true expert on Hollywood’s classical period.

CNA / Margalida Amengual

September 12, 2011 10:54 PM

Barcelona (ACN).- The seventh edition of the International Terenci Moix Award will recognise the career of Greek film director Theo Angelopoulos, director of 'The Gaze of Ulysses' and 'The eternity and a day'. The date of the prize giving has been changed from April 23rd at the Liceu Theatre, to September 22nd at the Palau de la Música. The Catalan photographer Colita, French writer Jean Daniel, Israeli writer David Grossman, film-maker Agustí Villaronga, dancer María Pagés, musician Carles Santos and writer Juan Eduardo Zúñiga are also to receive prizes.

Theo Angelopoulos was born in Athens in 1935. He studied law in Greece only to defer to the Sorbonne in Paris to study literature. After his time at university he worked as a journalist, releasing his first feature film, 'Aparastasi' in 1980 when he was unemployed. He is renowned for creating very personal works with a powerful visual language. Through the tales of his characters, their environments, the uncertain and paradoxical suspense and the exploration into the intimate and social, Angelopoulos builds, according to film juries around the world, a consonant and essential rhyme between poetry and film.

Angelopoulos will come to Barcelona to receive the award on September 22nd at a ceremony in which distinguished writers, filmmakers and artists will be in attendance. The prize is in remembrance of the late Terenci Moix, the highly regarded Catalan writer who had a true passion for cinematography. The ceremony will feature a live soundtrack performed by its composer Mauricio Villavecchia on the accordion. Violinist Olvido Lara, flamenco singer Miguel Poveda and actress and singer Ester Formosa will also perform. The event will be hosted by Natalia Menéndez and Enric Majó.